

Academic Senate Meeting - Spring 2024

Thursday, May 9, 2024 Minutes – Session 2 11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

LOCATION: DEZEMBER LEADERSHIP AND DEVELOPMENT CENTER, ROOM 409-411 AND VIRTUAL

Zoom Link: https://csub.zoom.us/j/89839397226?pwd=NkxlZ241eC8vK3|5Z2R5ZX|BZDg1dz09

2024-2025 AY Senators: Chair M. Danforth, Vice-Chair D. Solano, Senator Hedge, Senator C. Lam, Senator N. Michieka, Senator Tsantsoulas, Senator M. Naser, Senator D. Wu, Senator S. Sarma, Senator L. Kirstein, Senator A. Stokes, Senator Z. Zenko, Senator S. Roberts, Senator K. Holloway (virtual), Senator H. He, Senator A. Grombly, Senator E. Correa, Senator J. Deal, Senator T. Salisbury, Senator A. Rodriquez, Senator J. Cornelison (Staff Representative), Senator E. Pruitt (ASI President), Interim Provost J. Rodriguez, Senator J. Dong (Dean Representative) and Senate Analyst K. Van Grinsven.

Guests: none.

A. Call to Order

- a. Picture of the 2024-2025 Senate to be taken outdoors (Time Certain: 11:00 AM).
 - i. Picture taken by University Advancement.
- B. Introduction of Members
 - a. Senators introduced themselves.
- C. Approval of Academic Senate Meeting Schedule 2024-2025 (handout)
 - a. Motion carried. Approved.
- D. Election of Standing Committee Chairs (Statements of Interest attached *handout*)
 - a. Academic Affairs Committee

- i. Election took place. Senator John Deal was elected to serve as AAC Chair.
- b. Academic Support and Student Services Committee
 - Vice-Chair Solano nominated Senator Tsantsoulas to serve as AS&SS Chair.
 Senator Tsantsoulas accepted the nomination and was elected as AS&SS Chair by acclamation.
- c. Budget and Planning Committee
 - i. Senator Di Wu was elected to serve as BPC Chair by acclamation.
- d. Faculty Affairs Committee
 - i. Election took place. Senator Zenko was elected to serve as FAC Chair.

E. Adjournment

- a. Motioned to extend the meeting to 11:40 AM carried.
- b. Standing Committee appointments made.
- c. Chair Danforth adjourned the meeting at 11:38 AM.

Standing Committees 2024-2025

All terms are one-year and members of all Standing Committees are appointed by the Senate Executive Committee and approved by the Academic Senate.

Academic Affairs Committee (AAC)	Seven Faculty (One from each school and three At-Large)
Arts and Humanities	Carol Dell'Amicio
Business and Public Administration	John Deal - Chair
Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering	Heidi He
Social Sciences and Education	Michael Szolowicz
At-Large	Jing Wang
At-Large	Kathy Szick
At-Large	Vacant- Senator
One Student (ASI VP Univ. Affairs)	TBA
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Members	
Interim AVP for Academic Affairs	Elizabeth Adams
Director of Enrollment Systems	Tommy Holiwell
GE Faculty Director	Eduardo Montoya

Alternat	e

<u>Alternate</u>

Acadomic Support & Student Services (ASSES)	Six Faculty (one from each school & two At-
Academic Support & Student Services (AS&SS)	<u>Large</u>
Arts and Humanities	Tiffany Tsantsoulas - Chair
Business and Public Administration	Pratigya Sigdyal
Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering	Leslie Kirstein
Social Sciences and Education	Elaine Correa
At-Large	Jose Villagran
At-Large	Nora Cisneros
One Librarian	Kristine Holloway
One Student Services Professional	Janine Cornelison
One Staff Member	lvonna Edkins
ASI Executive VP or designee; asi-vicepresident@csub.edu	Marci Diaz
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Members	
Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Graduate Studies	Denver Fowler
VP for Student Affairs <i>or designee</i>	Markel Quarles (designee)
Director of ASI	Mike Kwon
AVP for Enrollment Management or designee	Jennifer McCune (designee)
Dean of Library or designee	Sandra Bozarth

Dwayne Cantrell

Budget and Planning Committee (BPC)	Six Faculty (one from each school & two At- Large
Arts and Humanities	Md Abu Naser
Business and Public Administration	Di Wu - Chair
Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering	Linh Bui
Social Sciences and Education	Rhonda Dugan
At-Large	Kyle Susa
At-Large	Maria Gutierrez de Jesus
One Librarian	Amanda Grombly
Associate VP Student Affairs	Ilaria Pesco
One Staff Member	Luis Hernandez
ASI President or designee	Erin Pruitt; asi-president@csub.edu
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Members	
Interim Provost/VP of Academic Affairs	James L. Rodríguez
VP Business and Administrative Services or designee	Natasha Hayes (designee)
Chair, Academic Senate	Melissa Danforth

<u>Alternate</u>

Ying Zhong - Fall 2024

Thom Davis - VP for BAS

Standing Committees 2024-2025

All terms are one-year and members of all Standing Committees are appointed by the Senate Executive Committee and approved by the Academic Senate.

Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC)	Six Faculty (one from each school & two At- Large)
Arts and Humanities	Jackie Kegley
Business and Public Administration	Sumita Sarma
Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering	Amber Stokes
Social Sciences and Education	Zachary Zenko - Chair
At-Large	Sarana Roberts
At-Large	Najmeh Kamyabi
One Librarian	Elijah Enos
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Member	· ·
CFA President or designee	Tracey Salisbury, CFA President
Associate VP for Faculty Affairs	Deborah Boschini

<u>Alternate</u>